When? Wednesday 10.08.202212:00

metalworks - designing & making
Where? 29-33, Boulevard Prince Henri, L-4280 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE Esch2022, Other, Art, Culture & Literature

metalworks - designing & making

Through the exhibition metalworks - designing & making, the city of Esch-Alzette reconnects with its industrial past. Formerly known as the “Iron Metropolis” due to its steel and mining activity, Esch-Alzette has developed as a major center for the iron industry in Europe. This economic boom attracted multicultural populations until the late 1980s. Today, some of the industrial infrastructure is safeguarded and continues to operate, while other sites are being converted to contribute to the urban expansion of city.

 

In this historical and heritage context, the Konschthal will present the work of international artists who reconnect with the tradition of industrial know-how and the craft of art, whilst experimenting with new forms of production. The selected objects - unique pieces or editions - show how current formal languages are re-appropriating the techniques of metal transformation, in art and design. The intrinsic quality of each proposal will be revealed by the raw aesthetics of the space and the functional character of the scenography; thus, providing an immediate reading of the gesture and the manufacturing process in question.

 

This exhibition will be accompanied by a publication in two languages - English and French - and a framework program for the public.

 

On a curatorial proposal by Georges Zigrand.

Book
Alexandre Van Battel
© echo.lu
Next events
Thursday 11.08.202212:00
Friday 12.08.202212:00
Saturday 13.08.202212:00
Sunday 14.08.202212:00
Monday 15.08.202212:00
Tuesday 16.08.202212:00
Wednesday 17.08.202212:00
Thursday 18.08.202212:00
Friday 19.08.202212:00
Saturday 20.08.202212:00
Sunday 21.08.202212:00
Monday 22.08.202212:00
Tuesday 23.08.202212:00
Wednesday 24.08.202212:00
Thursday 25.08.202212:00
Friday 26.08.202212:00
Saturday 27.08.202212:00
Sunday 28.08.202212:00
Monday 29.08.202212:00
Tuesday 30.08.202212:00
Wednesday 31.08.202212:00
Thursday 01.09.202212:00
Friday 02.09.202212:00
Saturday 03.09.202212:00
Sunday 04.09.202212:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Konschthal Esch
29-33, Boulevard Prince Henri
L-4280 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE
Show on map
Plan your journey
Frontaliers, des vies en stéréo par Mehdi Ahoudig et Samuel Bollendorff ©Samuel Bollendorff
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 22.10.2022

Vernissage

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more
Musée National de la Résistance et des Droits Humains
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire France, Territoire France

When? 01.09.2022

Vernissage Chemin Mémoriel

ECCE HOMO

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? 77, RUE ZENON BERNARD, L-4030 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 17.11.2022

Vernissage de l'exposition sur Jean-Paul II avec CONCERT du groupe polonais HOQUETUS

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more
© tinker imagineers
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 17.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more
©

Where? 37B, Rue de la Fontaine, L-4122 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 14.09.2022

Open Workshop Wedn. evening !

Come and tinker in our shared atelier

Find out more
© echo.lu

Where? 29-33, Boulevard Prince Henri, L-4280 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 14.08.2022

Visit for children (LU)

Visit for children (LU)

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 22.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 21.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 20.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg - Première

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more