When? Thursday 21.07.202214:00

An Island in Differdange
Where? FOND-DE-GRAS -, L-4576 DIFFERDANGE Esch2022, Other, Art, Culture & Literature

Wäiss Kaul

'Weiss Kaul' is a double project, a monumental concrete sculpture and a mobile pavilion that follows with it. These two facets of the same project attempt to highlight the geological responsibility of humanity linked to the industrial exploitation of the earth, by putting geological time into perspective with human time. The Ottange quarry, which is located on the Franco-Luxembourg border, is known for the richness of its coral limestone fossils. Cimalux, which operates the quarry, transforms this 23-metre-high layer into cement on the Luxembourg side. This layer of coral limestone is reproduced on a 1:1 scale using 3D scanning, thus forming a concrete sculpture reproducing the relief of the coral cliff in layers and reflecting the monumentality of geological time.

 

In a second phase, the form of this sculpture will be reused. By spacing out the form plates, a mobile and modular pavilion will be created in various places belonging to the region's industrial past. This pavilion will be used to display marine fossils found in the vicinity of the various locations that the pavilion will occupy during the cultural year. The MNHN will display a selection of high-quality fossils in these pavilions, always taking into account the proximity of the pavilion to the place of their discovery.

 

Text provided by the project partner

Wäiss Kaul, A Local Coral Reef © Franck Miltgen 2022, image Serge Ecker
© echo.lu
Next events
Thursday 21.07.202214:00
Friday 22.07.202214:00
Saturday 23.07.202214:00
Sunday 24.07.202214:00
Monday 25.07.202214:00
Tuesday 26.07.202214:00
Wednesday 27.07.202214:00
Thursday 28.07.202214:00
Friday 29.07.202214:00
Saturday 30.07.202214:00
Sunday 31.07.202214:00
Monday 01.08.202214:00
Tuesday 02.08.202214:00
Wednesday 03.08.202214:00
Thursday 04.08.202214:00
Friday 05.08.202214:00
Saturday 06.08.202214:00
Sunday 07.08.202214:00
Monday 08.08.202214:00
Tuesday 09.08.202214:00
Wednesday 10.08.202214:00
Thursday 11.08.202214:00
Friday 12.08.202214:00
Saturday 13.08.202214:00
Sunday 14.08.202214:00
Monday 15.08.202214:00
Tuesday 16.08.202214:00
Wednesday 17.08.202214:00
Thursday 18.08.202214:00
Friday 19.08.202214:00
Saturday 20.08.202214:00
Sunday 21.08.202214:00
Monday 22.08.202214:00
Tuesday 23.08.202214:00
Wednesday 24.08.202214:00
Thursday 25.08.202214:00
Friday 26.08.202214:00
Saturday 27.08.202214:00
Sunday 28.08.202214:00
Monday 29.08.202214:00
Tuesday 30.08.202214:00
Wednesday 31.08.202214:00
Thursday 01.09.202214:00
Friday 02.09.202214:00
Saturday 03.09.202214:00
Sunday 04.09.202214:00
Monday 05.09.202214:00
Tuesday 06.09.202214:00
Wednesday 07.09.202214:00
Thursday 08.09.202214:00
Friday 09.09.202214:00
Saturday 10.09.202214:00
Sunday 11.09.202214:00
Monday 12.09.202214:00
Tuesday 13.09.202214:00
Wednesday 14.09.202214:00
Thursday 15.09.202214:00
Friday 16.09.202214:00
Saturday 17.09.202214:00
Sunday 18.09.202214:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Minett Park
FOND-DE-GRAS -
L-4576 DIFFERDANGE
Show on map
Phone:0035226504124
Frontaliers, des vies en stéréo par Mehdi Ahoudig et Samuel Bollendorff ©Samuel Bollendorff
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 22.10.2022

Vernissage

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more
Musée National de la Résistance et des Droits Humains
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire France, Territoire France

When? 01.09.2022

Vernissage Chemin Mémoriel

ECCE HOMO

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? 77, RUE ZENON BERNARD, L-4030 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 17.11.2022

Vernissage de l'exposition sur Jean-Paul II avec CONCERT du groupe polonais HOQUETUS

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more
© tinker imagineers
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 17.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire Luxembourg, Territoire Luxembourg

When? 24.07.2022

Concerts

Europe goes Scuffelingen

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 22.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 21.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 20.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg - Première

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire Luxembourg, Territoire Luxembourg

When? 28.08.2022

Un chemin au milieu des arbres - Marche géopoétique

ECO-DESIGN - Le Village Pop-Up

Find out more